Needless to say, I’m not a fan of TACS. I like the trauma, I love my coworkers, but I cannot stand this service. At. All. It’s like being an IM res + SW rolled into one.

And I’ve also discovered my soft spot. I can’t handle when old grandmas and grandpas get hurt. We had a TTA last week, 82yo F ped vs. MVC, and it took a LOT for me to hold back tears. She was totally fine, GCS 15, dislocated shoulder was probably her worst injury, but I couldn’t stand to see her in a Miami-J, practically restrained on the ED bed. I probably spent more time by her side, holding her hand, than any other TTA that has comes in. Incredibly sweet lady. To make matters worse, incidental finding of lung mass on CT. Probably not cancer, but still.

At least I’m getting positive feedback about my performance so far during intern year. I’ve got decent bedside manners, and I’m evidently pretty good at patient management.

And I will say, there is one good thing that has come from this rotation – I learned about an opportunity where I can be a mentor to young girls caught up in Latino gangs throughout St. Paul. I’m really really excited to start getting involved.

Less than 2wks left. Man oh man.